Friday, February 21, 2020

Adobe & Teardrops: Episode 103

My heart is so full! Here’s Marikos art! There’s also jazz and stuff in this week’s episode!
  1. Nancy Priddy -- “Mystic Lady” (You’ve Come This Way Before)
  2. Cowboy Mouth -- “Run To Me” (Easy)
  3. Anna Ash -- “Apologies” (L.A. Flame)
  4. Joel Havea Trio -- “Hell To Pay” (Single)
  5. Nerija -- “Riverfest” (Blume)
  6. Tan Cologne -- “Alien” (Cave Vaults On the Moon in New Mexico)
  7. The Dustbowl Daddies -- “Broken Pieces” (More Hurricane Than Rainbow)
  8. Pi Jacobs -- “First Thing Tomorrow” (Two Truths and a Lie)
  9. Lynne Hanson -- “Just Words” (Just Words)
  10. Jeff Crosby -- “North Star” (Single)
Send me music via SubmitHub! Send me money via Ko-fi or Patreon. Find Rachel and her comic via

Friday, February 14, 2020

Adobe & Teardrops: Episode 102

Where else are you gonna Malian kora music, country, rockabilly, and extended guitar improv in one podcast? Without even getting off of your couch? Nowhere! Tune in and enjoy!
But do get off your couch if you’re in Brooklyn! Come see me, The Great Dying, and Goldenchild at C’mon Everybody in Brooklyn on Thursday, February 20th! This’ll be a full-band show for Goldenchild, and the Great Dying are Brooklyn-born and bred. “Writing a Song in Blue Ink” was initially written for David Berman. This stands to be a fantastic show!
  1. Ballake Sissoko -- “Sigi Gno Gonya” AND “Angata” (Sissoko & Sissoko)
  2. KINLEY -- “Washington” (KINLEY)
  3. Jordan McEwan -- “Strike a Chord” (Single)
  4. Ron Pope -- “Wait and See” AND “Habits” (Bone Structure)
  5. Tami Neilson -- “You Were Mine” AND “Queenie, Queenie” (CHICKABOOM!)
  6. Joe Buchanan -- “Driftwood” AND “How Good It Is” (Back From Babylon)
  7. Emma Hill -- “Early To Bed” (How Could I Have Been So Wrong?)
  8. Melody English -- “Affect Me” AND “Badlands” (Melody)
  9. Goldenchild -- “I Just Want Tonight” (Goldenchild)
  10. The Great Dying -- “Writing a Song in Blue Ink” (Bloody Noses & Roses)
  11. Elkhorn -- “Electric One (Part B)” (The Storm Sessions)
Send me music via SubmitHub! Send me money via Ko-fi or Patreon. Find Rachel and her comic via

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Concert Announcement: Goldenchild and The Great Dying in Brooklyn!

You'll get to hear more about this on tomorrow's podcast, but if you're in NYC there is some great live music coming down the pipe!

This coming Thursday, 2/20, Goldenchild and The Great Dying will be performing at C'mon Everybody! If you've been reading the blog or listening to the podcast for a while, you know I can't get enough of Wiley Gaby and his country pop. This time around, Wiley's got the full Goldenchild complement playing with him at queer-friendly bar C'Mon Everybody. 

The first time The Great Dying came to NYC in November 2019 I thought it would be a good idea to connect them. Bette was born and raised in Bette-Stuy and they were familiar with one another both having worked at the studio here in Water Valley, MS. They ended up doing a fun night together over at Rockwell Hall. 

The Great Dying is a natural to share the bill with Goldenchild. Matt Patton, owner of The Great Dying's label Dial Back Sound, explained how the show came to be. "I signed The Great Dying up for Bandcamp over the holidays last year. When I started booking the February tour I used it to find local support. I thought it enhanced our efforts because The Great Dying isn’t something your average country or alt-country fan is going to come around to immediately. The search tools on Bandcamp allowed us to identify those outliers who are finding success in the scene without only focusing on the current trends in twangy music. I liked that Goldenchild displayed a love of the classics as well as stuff like The Smiths."

Bed-Stuy native Bette Smith will also accompany the Great Dying.

Friday, February 7, 2020

Adobe & Teardrops: Episode 101

New release nirvana and wifi woes. Also, when I said “ash tray” it sounds like I said “ass tray.” Food for thought!
  1. John Moreland -- “A Thought Is Just a Passing Train” AND “Let Me Be Understood” (LP5)
  2. Darth Nater -- “Every Lie I’ve Ever Been Told” AND “Coexist” (Untruth)
  3. Hannah Juanita -- "Our Love is Done" (Single)
  4. Miss Tess -- “The Moon Is An Ashtray” AND “I Wanna Be a Cowboy” (The Moon Is an Ashtray)
  5. Kathryn Claire -- “Eastern Bound For Glory” AND “Stay Gold” (Eastern Bound For Glory)
  6. Jen Starsinic -- “Foreign Thing” AND “Bad Actor” (Bad Actor)
  7. Sarah Pray -- “Like It Matters” (Caralee, Once There Was)
  8. The Jab -- “Riot” AND “Analeeza” (Consume)
  9. Born Again Virgin -- “Nothing In Your Eyes” (Single) (Homoground)
  10. Arbor Labor Union -- “Under the Tree” (New Petal Instants)
Send me music via SubmitHub! Send me money via Ko-fi or Patreon. Find Rachel and her comic via

Thursday, February 6, 2020

Adobe & Teardrops: Episode 100!!!

It’s episode 100 and I can’t think of a better way to celebrate this achievement than compiling a list of songs that should be by and about lesbians with Jess St. Louis. We also talk about all kinds of other silliness -- I know you’ll have as much fun listening as we did recording.
You can read Karen Pittleman’s essay about country music and white supremacy here
Jess is the co-editor of A Life We Braid, a trans-affirming zine of femme/butch legacies, herstories, politics, and futures. You can follow her on Twitter @stlouis_j and A Life We Braid at @ALifeWeBraid

  1. Patsy Cline -- “Lovesick Blues”
  2. Dolly Parton -- “Jolene”
  3. Lila McCann -- “I Just Wanna Fall in Love”
  4. The Judds -- “Mama He’s Crazy”
  5. Erin Rae -- “Putting On Airs”
  6. Miranda Lambert -- “Getaway Driver”
  7. Maddie and Tae -- “Friends Don’t”
  8. Taylor Swift -- “All Too Well”
  9. Ashley McBryde -- “One Night Standards”
  10. Pistol Annies -- “Girls Like Us”
  11. Kenny Chesney -- “Tip of My Tongue”
  12. Tori Amos -- “I’m on Fire”
  13. Little Big Town -- “Girl Crush”

Send me music via SubmitHub! Send me money via Ko-fi or Patreon. Find Rachel and her comic via

Friday, January 31, 2020

Adobe & Teardrops: Episode 99

Bidding farewell to Redwall Abbey, the Grammys, and enjoying queer country community -- all on episode 99!

  1. Possessed by Paul James -- “Don’t Tell Me” (As We Go Wandering)
  2. Soo Line Loons -- “Dancing at the VFW” (A Place No One Belongs)
  3. Sophie and the Broken Things -- “Kickin Stereoes” (Sophie and the Broken Things)
  4. Tall Tall Trees -- “The Wind, She Whispers” (A Wave of Golden Things)
  5. Fighting Gravity -- “Bend the Light” (Under the Radar (Live and Acoustic at the Wolf Trap)
  6. Jonathan Emile -- “Moses” (Spaces-in-Between)
  7. Eric Brace and the Last Train Home -- “Hudson River” (Daytime Highs & Overnight Lows)
  8. Greg Rekus -- “Smart Ones” (Death and Taxes)
  9. Sean della Croce -- “In Confidence” (Illuminations)
  10. Grace Gonzalez -- “Red White and Blues” (Single)
  11. AC Sapphire -- “Mini Tour” (Omni Present) 

Send me music via SubmitHub! Send me money via Ko-fi or Patreon. Find Rachel and her comic via