Monday, June 9, 2014

Announcing Proud

Hi, folks!

I am super excited to announce that Adobe & Teardrops is teaming up with Russian Winter Records to create our very first compilation CD, Proud. It features ten of my favorite-ist people. Check out the info below!

Photo Credit: Dom Sindayiganza

West Virginia-based Russian Winter Records and alt-country blog Adobe & Teardrops are proud to announce the release of Proud, a compilation CD to benefit LGBTQ youth organization FIERCE. The album is slated to be released on 6/28, the date of the New York City Heritage of Pride March.

FIERCE is a New York City-based organization that trains LGBTQ youth of color to become the next generation of activists. The organization was chosen due to its connection to the true roots of the New York City Heritage of Pride parade: radical activism. As the inexorable tide of marriage equality rolls through the country, urgent issues such as trans* protections, homelessness, immigration status, and police brutality against LGBTQ youth (particularly youth of color) are often ignored by prominent LGBTQ organizations helmed by wealthy, white men. Even as Fortune 500 corporations like Google and Whole Foods sponsor floats at the Pride Parade, the struggle for true equality continues.

Lending their talents to this album are ten alt-country artists spanning the gender and sexuality spectrum. They are united by their dedication to honest music and unique worldviews: the very definition of pride. Proud will include tracks from Brooklyn-based queer country band Karen and the Sorrows, Atlanta rocker Sonia Tetlow, folk-rock troubadour Matt Woods , and New Orleans breakout singer Arsene DeLay. The ten-track album will be sold for $10 digitally via Russian Winter Records' Bandcamp page and on 500 limited-edition CDs. 25% of the proceeds will be donated to FIERCE. If the minimum of 500 CDs are sold, FIERCE will be able to hire an additional two interns for the next fiscal year.

More information to come! Get excited and get your wallets out!

Russian Winter Records, FIERCE


1. Arsene DeLay -- Anti
2. The Paisley Fields -- Not Gonna Be Friends
3. Sonia Tetlow -- Free to Rock'n'Roll
4. Paul Sanchez -- Dancing With Fear
5. Miss Shevaughn and Yuma Wray -- Brushed the Dust Off (Lean Into The Wind)
6. The Feel Bad Hit of the Winter -- Chato
7. Matt Woods -- Port St. Lucie
8. Mary Lasseigne -- Rebecca Sunshine
9. Uncle Leon and the Alibis -- Don't Blame This Guitar
10. Karen and the Sorrows -- Star

No comments:

Post a Comment